National Support Agencies

Find national leaders that sharing best practice, personal development, resources, news or jobs, in your field of work. 

Department for Culture, Media & Sport (DCMS) - www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-for-culture-media-sport
The DCMS is a government department that aims to make ‘Britain the world’s most creative and exciting place to live, visit and do business’.

IVE (Creative, Innovative, Supportive) - www.weareive.org
Acreative development agency working within cultural education, business, manufacturing, and the creative industries.  IVE supports the development of creativity as a transferable skill to improve employability and productivity.

Art

A-N The Artists Information Company - www.a-n.co.uk 
Find the latest on contemporary visual arts. Artists, arts professionals, and students can become a member to access extra resources and connect with like-minded folk.

Arts Council England - www.artscouncil.org.uk 
Working to achieve great arts & culture for everyone by championing, developing and investing in art & culture. Get access to funding, grants, news, jobs, as-well-as advice and guidance.

Arts Professional - www.artsprofessional.co.uk 
An arts management magazine that shares the latest news, jobs & events in the arts and cultural sector. It analyses the latest ideas, technologies, policies, and legislation affecting the sector.

ArtWorks Alliancewww.artworksalliance.org.uk
A cross-sector collaborating on the strategic development of the participatory arts sector. This includes community arts, socially-engaged arts, voluntary arts, and arts in education and learning. 

Yorkshire & Humber Visual Arts Networkhttp://www.cvan.art/yorkshire/
A regional partner of the national Contemporary Visual Arts Network.  A Steering Group drawn from the region’s community of visual artists and visual arts professionals.

Public Art

Ixia Network - www.ixia-info.com 
Ixia is the public art think tank that provides guidance on the role of art in the public realm. Ixia works with artists, policy makers and implementers within the public and private sectors. It carries out research, supports events and delivers training, and commissions new writing and publications.

Public Art Online - www.publicartonline.org.uk
A public art information site that provides guidance and examples of public art practice from around the UK and internationally.

Street Art

Independent Street Arts Network (ISAN) - www.isanuk.org
A membership organisation which supports and advocates for Outdoor Arts across the UK. It celebrates the work, talent, and achievements of people, companies, and organisations working in this most accessible of art forms.

National Association of Street Artists (NASA) - www.nasauk.org
An independent UK network of creative practitioners making work for the outdoors.

XTRAX - www.xtrax.org.uk
XTRAX supports inspirational outdoor performance, running projects, festivals and showcases designed to promote innovative outdoor work from UK and international artists. 

Arts and health

National Alliance for Arts Health and Wellbeing - www.artshealthandwellbeing.org.uk 
A voice for arts and health activity, sharing resources and examples of the ways that creative activity can benefit the health and well-being of individuals and communities.

Disability Arts Online - http://disabilityarts.online
A disability-led organisation set up to advance and share disability arts and culture with the world. 

Festivals 

Association of Festival Organisers (AFO) - www.festivalorganisers.org
A membership organisation working for and with festivals and events. If you have anything to do with festivals, you can join the AFO.

Association of Independent Festivals (AIF) -www.aiforg.com
A non-profit trade association created to represent and empower independent festivals. They help the businesses of our individual members and overall needs of the independent festival scene.

British Arts Festivals Association (BAFA) - www.artsfestivals.co.uk
A national membership body for Arts Festivals in the UK. Celebrating, developing and strengthening the work of its members.

Events

Events Industry Forum (EIF) - www.eventsindustryforum.co.uk
EIF is an informal organisation that brings together event industry trade associations.  EIF took over the production of The Purple Guide from the HSE. 

The Event Services Association (TESA) - www.new.tesa.org.uk 
TESA represents organisers, promoters, and suppliers involved in the event industry throughout the UK, particularly those involved with outdoor events.  

British Pyrotechnists Association (BPA) - www.pyro.org.uk
The Association represents the majority of professional UK firework display companies. It’s committed to maintaining high standards amongst its members; from manufacture to use of fireworks.

Film

British Film Institute (BFI) - www.bfi.org.uk 
Passionate about film the BFI use National Lottery funding to inspire people to watch, make and learn about film.

Screen Yorkshire -  www.screenyorkshire.co.uk 
A regional screen agency supporting film, broadcast and digital media in the Yorkshire and Humber. They invest in film content through the £15m Yorkshire Content Fund.

Crafts

Crafts Council - www.craftscouncil.org.uk 
Find the latest contemporary crafts news, awards, jobs, exhibitions, and fairs. Create a profile to make connections with established makers in the Craft Directory, and add your listings.  

Heritage Crafts Association (HCA) - www.heritagecrafts.org.uk
Supporting and promoting heritage craft skills, knowledge and practices as a fundamental part of our living heritage.

Design

Design Council - www.designcouncil.org.uk 
A charity that promotes design. Their site shares free guides, case studies and lists of networks for support small businesses, public sector managers, designers and design students.  

Culture Education

Earlyarts - www.earlyarts.co.uk 
A network for early childhood educators who believe in nurturing children's creative potential. The site includes research, creative teaching materials and training events.

Dance

Foundation for Community Dance - www.communitydance.org.uk 
A professional organisation for anyone involved in creating opportunities for people to experience and participate in dance. The website has information on courses and conferences, plus a publications section with information relevant to dancers working in community settings.

National Dance Network - www.nationaldance.co.uk 
NDN is a meeting point of organisations whose primary role is the development of dance in the context of presenting, programming and commissioning.

Heritage

Heritage Lottery Fund - www.hlf.org.uk
The Heritage Lottery Fund offers a range of grant programmes from £3000 to £5 million. The site gives information on how to apply and features projects that have been awarded funding.

Theatre 

Independent Theatre Council (ITC) -  www.itc-arts.org 
The Independent Theatre Council is the lead body for performing arts organisations and individuals working in the field of drama, dance, opera and music theatre, mime and physical theatre, circus, puppetry, street arts and mixed media.  The site has a resources section and lists the many training courses available to help you run a successful performing arts company.

National Operatic and Dramatic Association (NODA) - www.noda.org.uk 
NODA provides assistance and advice to amateur theatre groups and societies in the UK.  NODA offers its members a range of products and services to help  with productions, such as their health and safety service NODASafe or help with the marketing of productions and societies through the Social Media Helpdesk.

Museums

Museums Association - www.museumsassociation.org 
The Museums Association is a membership organisation for everyone working in museums, galleries and heritage. The site includes information on collections, exhibitions, events, campaigns and career development.

Music

Musicians Union - www.musiciansunion.org.uk 
The Musicians’ Union represents musicians working in all sectors of the music business.  The MU looks after the interests of more than 30,000 professional musicians, offering practical advice and downloadable resources for those working in all industry sectors.

PRS for Music Foundation (PRSF) - www.prsformusicfoundation.com 
The UK's leading funder of new music across all genres. PRS for Music Foundation supports a range of new music activity– from composer residencies and commissions to festivals and showcases in the UK and overseas.

Literature

Writers Guild - www.writersguild.org.uk
The Writers' Guild of Great Britain supports writers across media including books, film, online, radio, theatre, TV and videogames.

If you know about a great organisation that’s not listed let us know and we’ll share.